Stuck Between Genres

I’ve haven’t written a regular blog in forever! I’ve had a lot to say in regards to the music industry. A lot of it being semi-grippy, but I’ve restrained myself from complaining. Cause let’s face it…no one likes a complainer. Haha! Being an independent musician is, of course, tough. It is easier when you make the right business decisions. However, if you don’t “know people” it makes it crazy hard to get to the next level. There are lot of artists that I see making a big name for themselves. And while I might not exactly dig what kind of music they are making it doesn’t mean that I don’t have the utmost respect for them. So, within saying that I feel like a lot the indie music I listen to is all along the same lines. Talented vocalists, songwriters, musicians…the songs are great on an individual basis, but put them all next to each other and I feel like I’m swimming in a pool of homogenized music. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure a lot of people would put me in that category, too. Haha! Although I’d like to think that I’m making music that sounds remotely original. Haha!!! I find that I’m stuck between genres. For some people I’m “too pop” and for others I’m “not pop enough”. I’m going to continue to write the “feel good” music that I write in the hope that it will become groundbreaking-ly refreshing for current and future listeners. To be honest, the hardest part is getting people to actually take the time to listen to my music. I’m still dreaming of the day someone remotely famous tweets about my music and then I don’t have to worry about anything for the rest of my life. Hahahaha!

I am going to be recording a full album soon and I am crossing my fingers that I will have some dedicated fans joining me for the ride. The record is really going to be something really special. You can carpool with me from point B to point C. Deal?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

