Day 270 – Sonia Leigh’s Face on a Cake

Next step getting my face on a cake!

Let me tell you the story of Sonia Leigh. About 7 years ago I took a last minute road trip to Atlanta. I stayed with a friend in Decatur and we went out to a hole in the wall place to hang out one night. There was this girl setting up to perform and when she started I was like “Who is this!?!” She had such raw talent and a great demeanor on stage. I signed her mailing list back then and low and behold last year I started getting emails from her saying how she was tour with the Zac Brown Band. And now she has a video on CMT!! Crazy!!! I was so happy to be performing on the same stage as her. The live show she put on tonight was incredible. So intense and inspiring. Not to mention her band was killer.

She just came out with a new album on iTunes called ‘1978 December’. Check it out: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/1978-december/id451073906 It was just released today and her street team gave her this cake. I can’t imagine being so far away from home and having a street team that got me a cake made with my face on it. She has been truckin’ for years. Shows how hard work pays off.

I also have to say that she is exactly the way I think a musician should be after a show. She hung out and met every single person that wanted to meet her. She took the time to chat with anyone who wanted to chat. She even bought two of my tshirts to support me. A lot of times I find that I’m getting snubbed by the people I share the stage with….but this was the best experience I’ve ever had with an artist who is really “making it”. If you want to meet the southern version of me go see Sonia live and you’ll see what I mean. Haha!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

