“My Disciplined Life” Project Launch

Well, today is the day! I’m jumping into this project not exactly prepared, but I feel if I don’t start it now I won’t start it at all.

This project involves me disciplining myself to do the things I’ve been wanting to do for quite some time. I’ve been a full time musician for almost year now. I’ve toured all over the country and very soon I’m going to be recording a full album. The one issue that I have with my music career is the the business side has totally taken over the artist in me. It’s time for me to buckle down and become a better musician and still keep a balance with the business aspect. Since I’m a full time musician I need to treat it as if I would a 9-5 job (i.e. schedules, goals, to-do lists, etc).

I have a problem with being addicted to learning. I want to learn how play a million instruments and learn how to be efficient at various software programs. This project is going to help me organize all the things I want to learn or improve in. Here are the list of things I want to focus on:

Instruments:
1. Guitar (improve)
2. Mandolin  (Improve)
3. Banjo (improve)
4. Piano (I have wanted to learn since forever)
5. Bass (learn)
6. Music Theory (learn)

Software:
1. Final Cut Pro Studio (improve)
2. After Effects (learn)
3. Photoshop (improve)
4. Illustrator (learn)

I am going to create some rules and guidelines for myself. These will most likely evolve as the project goes on, but here they are.

1. Spend 20 minutes a day on 4 different subjects – 1 hour and 20 minutes total
2. Weekends are off days unless I want to practice or to make up for lack of practice
3. Make a weekly/daily/monthly schedule of when and what I’ll be focusing on
4. Make a list of S.M.A.R.T. Goals for each subject
5. If there are full days of recording, filming, or anything related to the subjects I want to learn that will count towards the “required” learning time.

I will be blogging about my goals, progress and will be using various apps to help keep me organized. Jerzy Jung, a fellow musician, will also be doing this project but will customize it to her goals. Check her out on facebook by clicking here. She and I are partnering together so we can help inspire one another as well as inspire others to take on their own “My Disciplined Life” Project. Feel free to give suggestions on how you discipline/organize yourself to achieve your goals.

Watch out people…I might become the female version of Anthony Robbins.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

