Bitches Who Write Songs

Yes, you read the title correctly. Let me explain. My friend, Rick Barry (a singer/songwriter from Asbury Park) hosts a monthly show call “A Night in Progress”. Rick challenges artists to write a 30 minute set of all new, never been heard, material. This time around it was a line of amazing female singer/songwriters; Allie Moss, Sarah Donner, Bess Rogers and Jerzy Jung. Allie had asked me if I could create a flyer in order to promote the show….and I was all about it. Originally, the night was called “Ladies Night” and to me that means having to where a mini-skirt and drink appletinis all night. I asked Rick if I could call it “Bitches Who Write Music” of which he approved.

The whole evening was a treat. I got to share the stage with talented friends. All of us were freaking out about forgetting words, chords, etc. But there were very few flubs all and all. I played 6 new songs. I started in order of the songs I felt the least comfortable with and ended with a punch in the face gospel wanna be song that Joanna Burns helped me to write. I can’t wait to play that song with a band. I feel like I am on my way to a pretty cool full album (but that is next year…let me get my EP out first…sheesh!).

I don’t have any footage of the night…and I’m not really sure if I would want to post it even if I did. So, I will leave you with none other than the famous ShamWow guy promoting his new product THE Slap Chop!

Tacos, fRettachini, linguini, martini, bikini.

=O) Amanda

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Bitches Who Write Songs”

  1. Ken Says:

    Rick Barry is the biggest bitch of them all!

  2. Kelly Says:

    bitches who write songs was amazing…but i think the most amazing thing of this post is that sham-wow guy just said “ur gonna love my nuts”
    priceless.

  3. Kelly Says:

    HAHA OMG ME TOO!!!

Leave a Reply

